Go Back   MTG Vault Forums > Magic: The Gathering > MTG Rulings & Questions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2011, 07:58 PM
WadeB WadeB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Question Legendary Creature Limit

So I was just curious about how many legendary creatures you can have in a deck. I haven't seen any rules about it and my opinion is that you can only have one. Thanks for any input.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2011, 08:37 PM
Seras's Avatar
Seras Seras is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,026
Default

there's no limit on how many legendary creatures you can have and you can have up to 4 copies of each legendary creature card in your deck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2011, 12:59 AM
Aneximines's Avatar
Aneximines Aneximines is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WadeB View Post
So I was just curious about how many legendary creatures you can have in a deck. I haven't seen any rules about it and my opinion is that you can only have one. Thanks for any input.
You can only have one on the battlefield. The reason for this is that if there are two are more legendary permanents with the same name, they all die.

You can have up to four copies of such a card in your deck, though, just like most cards.

The rules:

100.2a In constructed play (a way of playing in which each player creates his or her own deck ahead of time), each deck must contain at least sixty cards. A constructed deck may contain any number of basic land cards and no more than four of any card with a particular English name other than basic land cards.


704.5k If two or more legendary permanents with the same name are on the battlefield, all are put into their owners’ graveyards. This is called the “legend rule.” If only one of those permanents is legendary, this rule doesn’t apply.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-05-2011, 01:48 AM
WadeB WadeB is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aneximines View Post
You can only have one on the battlefield. The reason for this is that if there are two are more legendary permanents with the same name, they all die.

You can have up to four copies of such a card in your deck, though, just like most cards.

The rules:

100.2a In constructed play (a way of playing in which each player creates his or her own deck ahead of time), each deck must contain at least sixty cards. A constructed deck may contain any number of basic land cards and no more than four of any card with a particular English name other than basic land cards.


704.5k If two or more legendary permanents with the same name are on the battlefield, all are put into their owners’ graveyards. This is called the “legend rule.” If only one of those permanents is legendary, this rule doesn’t apply.
Ok so I understand that but just so I understand completely, I can't have two or more of the same legendary creatures on the feild. But I could have two completely different legendary creatures on the battlefield at the same time, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-05-2011, 01:58 AM
Bonzai820 Bonzai820 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Posts: 235
Default

If it has the adjective "Legendary" then only 1 copy with that specific "card name" can be on the battlefield at any given time. That is unless something alters that rule, such as Mirror Gallery or the creature Brothers Yamazaki from Kamigawa block. All other rules remain the same.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-05-2011, 05:44 PM
Aneximines's Avatar
Aneximines Aneximines is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WadeB View Post
I could have two completely different legendary creatures on the battlefield at the same time, correct?
Yes, that's right. So long as the names don't match, the 'legend rule' won't touch them.

For example, Sakashima the Impostor can safely copy a legendary creature because he retains his name.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2005 - 2011, MTG Vault.