Go Back   MTG Vault Forums > Magic: The Gathering > MTG Rulings & Questions


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-27-2011, 02:33 PM
kro's Avatar
kro kro is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Gresham OR
Posts: 29
Default Sacrificing Questions

I have a lot of questions about Sacrificing.

1. Can you sacrifice anything at anytime? Can you sacrifice a mana, artifact, equipment, creature at any time and put it into your graveyard?

2. If you have two creatures with a "Sacrifice a creature too..." can you sacrifice one creature too gain both abilities?

3. If you use something like "Act of Treason" where you gain control of a persons creature, can you just sacrifice it before giving it back?

4. For abilities like morbid, can you just sacrifice a creature to get the effect of "If a creature died this turn."?

5. Last questions. A creature like Goblin Arsonist, can you attack with it, then sacrifice it to do the 1 damage when target creature dies?

Sorry for so many questions, these questions have just come up in games and we have just kind of made our own decisions.

THANKS FOR THE HELP! YOUR ALL AMAZING!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2011, 03:07 PM
Seras's Avatar
Seras Seras is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,026
Default

No, you can only sacrifice a permanent when a spell or ability explicitly tells you to, either as part of the cost or as part of the effect.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2011, 11:11 PM
Scotty1700 Scotty1700 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 196
Default

Just to give a more in-depth response..

1) You NEED a spell/ability to force you to sacrifice anything. You can't just randomly do it with no apparent reason.

2) No, you cannot respond to costs being paid. Abilities with "Sacrifice a creature:" requires you to sacrifice a creature as a cost to put the ability on the stack. Now because you can't respond to costs being paid, you cannot activate both abilities of the two creatures as the soonest time you could do this is after the ability's been put on the stack but at that point, the cost has been paid and the creature you sac'd before is already dead.

3) Yup, there's no reason why it wouldn't work. Act of Treason works great with Birthing Pod too.

4) Nope, unless you have a spell or ability to sacrifice a creature before the end step then it won't work. It also has to occur before the end step actually begins.

5) Again, you can't randomly just sacrifice it to have it do its one damage to something. There has to be something to sacrifice it to such as a card like Viscera Seer or possibly a spell like Goblin Grenade. Note: If Goblin Arsonist dies from combat (and assigning one point of damage to whatever it blocked/was blocked by) then it does indeed die and you can assign that one point of damage to the creature that blocked or was blocked by it to deal a total of 2 damage to it.

Last edited by Scotty1700; 10-27-2011 at 11:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2005 - 2011, MTG Vault.